German Sustainable Development Strategy

Logo of the DNS

Ranging from combating hunger and poverty to affordable and clean energy, climate protection and the creation of viable, sustainable cities: Within the framework of the 2030 Agenda for Sustainable Development, the 193 member states of the United Nations have defined 17 global goals for sustainable development.

The German Sustainable Development Strategy has also been oriented towards these 17 global goals since 2016. The Federal Cabinet approved their update on the 10 March 2021. With the decision of the Federal Cabinet of 30 November 2022 (Policy Decision 2022), the Federal Government confirmed the strategy.

Under the leadership of the Federal Chancellery, all ministries are involved in the implementation of the German Sustainable Development Strategy, which is further developed on a regular basis. The next further development is scheduled for the end of 2024.

The central steering body of the strategy is the State Secretaries' Committee for Sustainable Development, chaired by Sarah Ryglewski, Minister of State to the Federal Chancellor, to whom the Federal Cabinet transferred responsibility for sustainable development in the Federal Chancellery in August 2022.