Selection

Select here what should be displayed in the chart and in the table.

Download Headline CSV Download Source CSV

Data source: German Environment Agency

Geographical Area: Germany

This table includes additional information to the above visualized indicators, i.e. a short definition of this indicator and a description of the politically determined target values as well as explaining the political intention behind selecting this indicator.

Definition

The indicator shows the index of emissions of the following greenhouse gases (substances or substance groups) in CO₂ equivalents: carbon dioxide (CO₂), methane (CH₄), nitrous oxide (N₂O), nitrogen trifluoride (NF₃), hydrofluorocarbons (H-FKW/HFC), perfluorocarbons (FKW/PFC) and sulphur hexafluoride (SF₆).

Target and intention

The global average temperature on the surface of the Earth is continuously rising due to the increasing concentration of carbon dioxide and other greenhouse gases in the atmosphere. The Federal Government therefore aims to lower greenhouse gas emissions in Germany by at least 65 % by 2030 and by at least 88 % by 2040 compared with 1990. The target was to achieve a reduction of greenhouse gas emissions at 40 % by 2020. The intention is to achieve greenhouse gas neutrality by 20451.

1Adjustment of the target values of at least 55 % by 2030 compared to 1990 level and achievement of greenhouse gas neutrality by 2050 according to policy resolution 2022.

Data status

The data published in the indicator report 2022 is as of Oct 31 2022. The data shown on this platform is updated regularly, so that more current data may be available online than published in the indicator report 2022.

Text from the Indicator Report 2022 

Short-wavelength sun rays are transmitted by various atmospheric greenhouse gases and reflected by the earth’s surface as long-wavelength thermal radiation. Greenhouse gases absorb and emit infrared radiation from the earth in different wave ranges with varying intensity, and have different residence time in the atmosphere. Hence, the effects of greenhouse gases are subject to their concentration in the atmosphere and contribute to a variable extent to the greenhouse effect. To summarise the various greenhouse gases into a single index, they are each expressed in “CO₂ equivalents”, which means that they are converted into the quantity of CO₂ that would have a comparable impact on global warming. Because of cumulation, however, the development of the individual greenhouse gases cannot be determined. A negative development of one greenhouse gas can for instance be concealed by a positive development of another greenhouse gas.

The data is provided annually by the German Environment Agency as part of the reporting required under the United Nations Framework Convention on Climate Change (UNFCCC), the Paris Agreement1 and the Federal Climate Change Act. The measuring and reporting of emissions is subject to a comprehensive quality-management regime.

The emissions are calculated in accordance with the territoriality or production principle. The largest emitters of greenhouse gases and air pollutants within Germany were therefore identified, and the quantity of their emissions under certain circumstances was investigated. A specific emissions factor derived from those findings was then multiplied by the emitter’s activity data to arrive at the overall quantity of emissions.

It should be noted that, in accordance with the Kyoto Protocol, the indicator does not show carbon dioxide emissions arising from land use, land-use change and forestry. Maritime shipping and international aviation are also excluded from the calculation.

Looking at developments between 2015 and 2021, it is clear that the indicator has not progressed in a stable manner. In 2015 and 2016, greenhouse-gas emissions rose slightly by 0.3 percentage points. Since 2017, however, they have sunk noticeably, by 1.3 percentage points in 2017, 2.8 percentage points in 2018, 4.1 percentage points in 2019 and 5.7 percentage points in 2020. The targeted reduction of 40 % by 2020 in comparison to 2008 was achieved at 41.3 %. Particularly, the changes can be attributed to the consequences from the COVID-19 pandemic due to the decline in traffic and industrial output. However, greenhouse gas emissions increased by 2.6 % in 2021. According to provisional emission data by the Federal Climate Change Act on long-term development, emissions reduced by 38.7 % in 2021 compared to 1990. If the development continues according to the preceding five years, the goal to reduce emissions by 65 % by 2030 compared to 1990 will be missed. Further, the former goal of the Federal Government would also be missed in the case of continuation of the trend, that is, a reduction of greenhouse gas emissions by 55 % by 2030.

By far the greatest share of total greenhouse-gases in 2021 was carbon dioxide, at 88.6 %, compared with 84.7 % in 1990. Most recently, methane accounted for 6.3 % of the total, with nitrous oxide on 3.6 % and the sum of fluorinated greenhouse gases on 1.5 %. By far the largest proportion of CO₂ emissions arise from the generation of electricity and heat. Methane and nitrous oxide are emitted primarily by agricultural production.

1Kyoto Protocol has expired at the end of 2020. From 2020 on, contracting parties of the UNFCCC committed to the Paris Agreement in lieu of the Kyoto Protocol.

The synoptic table provides information about the evaluation of the indicator in previous years. It shows if the weather symbol assigned to an indicator was rather stable or volatile in the past years. (Evaluation of the Indicator Report 2022 )

Indicator

13.1.a Greenhouse gas emissions

Target

Reduce by at least 65 % by 2030 and by at least 88 % by 2040; greenhouse gas neutrality to be achieved by 2045

Year

2021

Evaluation <p>Wolke</p>

Auswahl

Wählen Sie hier aus, was in der Grafik bzw. Tabelle angezeigt werden soll.

Speichern der Headline im CSV-Format Daten im CSV-Format speichern

Datenquelle: Umweltbundesamt

Geographische Abdeckung: Deutschland

Diese Übersicht beinhaltet zusätzliche Informationen zu den oben dargestellten Indikatoren, wie eine kurze Definition des Indikators und eine Beschreibung des politisch festgelegten Zielwertes sowie die politische Intention für die Auswahl des Indikators.

Definition

Der Indikator zeigt den Index der Emissionen folgender Treibhausgase (Stoffe oder Stoffgruppen, in CO₂-Äquivalenten): Kohlendioxid (CO₂), Methan (CH₄), Lachgas (N₂O), Stickstofftrifluorid (NF₃), teilhalogenierte Fluorkohlenwasserstoffe (H-FKW/HFC), perfluorierte Kohlenwasserstoffe (FKW/PFC) sowie Schwefelhexafluorid (SF₆).

Ziel und Intention

Die globale Durchschnittstemperatur auf der Erdoberfläche steigt aufgrund der zunehmenden Konzentration von Kohlendioxid (CO₂) und anderen Treibhausgasen (THG) in der Atmosphäre kontinuierlich an. Ziel der Bundesregierung ist es daher, bis zum Jahr 2030 die Treibhausgasemissionen in Deutschland um mindestens 65 % und bis zum Jahr 2040 um mindestens 88 % gegenüber 1990 zu senken. Das Ziel bis zum Jahr 2020 war eine Reduktion der Treibhausgasemissionen um 40 %. Bis zum Jahr 2045 soll die Treibhausgasneutralität erreicht werden.1

1Anpassung der Zielwerte von mindestens 55 % bis 2030 gegenüber 1990 und Erreichung der Treibhausgasneutralität bis 2050 gemäß Grundsatzbeschluss 2022.

Datenstand

Der Indikatorenbericht 2022 hat den Datenstand 31.10.2022. Die Daten auf dieser Plattform werden regelmäßig aktualisiert, sodass online aktuellere Daten verfügbar sein können als im Indikatorenbericht 2022 veröffentlicht.

Text aus dem Indikatorenbericht 2022 

Die kurzwelligen Sonnenstrahlen werden von den verschiedenen Treibhausgasen (THG) in der Atmosphäre transmittiert und von der Erdoberfläche als langwellige Wärmestrahlung reflektiert. Die THG absorbieren und emittieren die von der Erde ausgehende Infrarotstrahlung in unterschiedlichen Wellenbereichen, mit unterschiedlicher Intensität und haben eine unterschiedliche Verweilzeit in der Atmosphäre. Daher tragen die Konzentrationen der einzelnen THG in unterschiedlichem Maße zum Treibhauseffekt bei. Um die Wirkung der Emissionen von verschiedenen THG dennoch vergleichen und zusammenfassen zu können, wird versucht ihre Wirkung auf die globale Erwärmung mittels „CO₂-Äquivalenten“ zu beziffern. Durch die Zusammenfassung sind jedoch die Entwicklungen der THG im Einzelnen nicht ersichtlich, da die negative Entwicklung des einen Treibhausgases durch die positive Entwicklung eines anderen THG überlagert werden kann.

Die Daten werden jährlich durch das Umweltbundesamt (UBA) im Rahmen der Berichterstattung unter der Klimarahmenkonvention der Vereinten Nationen (UNFCCC: United Nations Framework Convention on Climate Change), dem Pariser Übereinkommen1 und dem Bundes-Klimaschutzgesetz (KSG) zur Verfügung gestellt. Die Emissionsermittlung und ‑berichterstattung unterliegt einem umfassenden Qualitätsmanagement.

Die Berechnung erfolgt nach dem Verursacher- und Territorialkonzept. Für alle THG und Luftschadstoffe wurden somit alle relevanten Emissionsquellen innerhalb Deutschlands ermittelt. Für diese Quellen wurde untersucht, wie hoch die Emissionen unter bestimmten Voraussetzungen sind. Daraus ergibt sich ein spezifischer Emissionsfaktor, der durch Multiplikation mit den Aktivitätsdaten der Quelle die Emissionsmenge ergibt.

Zu beachten ist, dass der Indikator gemäß Kyoto-Protokoll nicht die CO₂-Emissionen aus Landnutzung, Landnutzungsänderungen und Forstwirtschaft ausweist. Auch die Seeschifffahrt und der internationale Flugverkehr werden bei der Berechnung nicht berücksichtigt.

Betrachtet man die Entwicklung der Jahre 2015 bis 2021, so hat sich der Indikator nicht stabil entwickelt. Im Jahr 2015 und 2016 stiegen die Emissionswerte von THG jeweils geringfügig um 0,3 Prozentpunkte an. Seit dem Jahr 2017 sanken diese jedoch deutlich, 2017 um 1,3, 2018 um 2,8, 2019 um 4,1 und 2020 um 5,7 Prozentpunkte. Das Ziel für 2020 – eine Reduktion um 40 % gegenüber 2008 – konnte somit mit einer Reduktion um 41,3 % erreicht werden. Dies ist insbesondere auf Rückgänge im Verkehr und der Industrieproduktion während der Corona-Pandemie zurückzuführen. Im Jahr 2021 sind die Treibhausgasemissionen wieder um 2,6 Prozentpunkte angestiegen. Langfristig zeigt sich nach den vorläufigen Emissionsdaten laut KSG im Jahr 2021 ein Rückgang um insgesamt 38,7 % gegenüber 1990. Bei Fortsetzung der Entwicklung der letzten fünf Berichtsjahre ist das Erreichen des Ziels für 2030 – eine Reduktion um 65 % gegenüber 1990 – nicht erreichbar. Auch das ehemalige Ziel der Regierung einer Reduktion der Treibhausgasemissionen um 55 % bis 2030 würde bei einer Fortschreibung des Trends nicht erreicht werden.

Den weitaus größten Anteil am gesamten Ausstoß von THG hatte 2021 das Kohlendioxid mit 88,6 %, im Jahr 1990 waren es 84,7 %. Methan trug zuletzt mit 6,3 %, Lachgas mit 3,6 % und die fluorierten Treibhausgase als Summe mit 1,5 % bei. Der mit Abstand größte Teil der CO₂-Emissionen entsteht bei der Gewinnung von Strom und Wärme. Methan und Lachgas entweichen hauptsächlich in der landwirtschaftlichen Produktion.

1 Das Kyoto-Protokoll ist Ende 2020 abgelaufen. Für die Zeit nach 2020 einigten sich die Vertragsparteien der Klimarahmenkonvention auf ein neues Abkommen, das Pariser Übereinkommen, das das Kyoto-Protokoll ersetzt.

In dieser Übersichtstabelle sind die Bewertungen des Indikators nach Stand der vorhergehenden Jahre dargestellt. Daran lässt sich ablesen, ob das Wettersymbol für einen Indikator in den vergangenen Jahren stabil oder eher volatil war. (Bewertungen aus dem Indikatorenbericht 2022)

Indikator

13.1.a Treibhausgasemissionen

Ziel

Minderung um mindestens 65 % bis 2030, um mindestens 88 % bis 2040; Erreichung der Treibhausgasneutralität bis 2045

Jahr

2021

Bewertung <p>Wolke</p>