Publications

New Edition of the German Sustainable Development Strategy

Abbildung 1: WISTA
Published January 2017

On 10 March 2021, the Federal Government adopted the new edition of the German Sustainable Development Strategy and set itself 72 goals to make Germany more sustainable in the future. Six new indicators were added in the areas of health, equality, infrastructure, cultural heritage and soil protection. In addition, the targets and methodology for ten existing indicators were further developed.

In 2016, following the adoption of the United Nations 2030 Agenda, the Federal Government revised the German Sustainable Development Strategy and adopted a new version on 11 January 2017. This revision represents the most comprehensive further development of the strategy since its conception in 2002. The "New Edition of the German Sustainable Development Strategy" is the main framework for the national implementation of the 2030 Agenda and its 17 Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs). The Federal Statistical Office has been commissioned by the Federal Government to analyse and monitor the sustainability strategy since 2006. It compiles the indicators that measure the achievement of the goals in the individual thematic areas and publishes so-called indicator reports every two years.

Feasibility study on the presentation of the indicators of the German Sustainable Development Strategy by federal states (only available in German)

Figure 2: Feasibility study
Published November 2018
In addition to the federal government, the majority of the German states have their own Sustainable Development Strategies. Some state governments have already aligned these with the 17 global sustainable development goals of the 2030 Agenda; in other states, there are efforts to adapt or develop a state-specific Sustainable Development Strategy.

The heads of the state and senate chancelleries of the Federation and the Länder (CdS) have decided to develop uniform indicators and evaluation standards for the Federal Government and the Länder for monitoring the success of the DNS. The Federal Statistical Office was asked by the Bund Länder Erfahrungsaustausch Nachhaltigkeit (BLE NH) - a body of the federal and state departments responsible for sustainability - to provide an overview for presenting the indicators of the DNS by federal state. The feasibility study presented here corresponds to the advanced overview.

Special evaluation for selected indicators by territorial status (only available in German)

Figure 3: Special evaluation by territorial status
Published May 28th 2021

Publication of selected indicators by territorial status: New Länder with Berlin, New Länder without Berlin, Former Federal Territory.

Indicator Reports

Indicator Report 2021
The Indicator Reports of the Federal Statistical Office provide information on the monitoring of the indicators of the German Sustainable Development Strategy. Supplementary data series on the respective indicators are published in the Data to the Indicator Report.

2022

Indicator Report 2022 - Only available in German.

Data to the Indicator Report 2022 - The publication has been discontinued. The information is now available online on this platform at the respective indicators under the tab "Additional information".

2021

Indicator Report 2021
Data to the Indicator Report 2021

2018

Indicator Report 2018
Data to the Indicator Report 2018

2016

Indicator Report 2016
Data to the Indicator Report 2016

2014

Indicator Report 2014
Data to the Indicator Report 2014

2012

Indicator Report 2012
Data to the Indicator Report 2012

2010

Indicator Report 2010
Data to the Indicator Report 2010

2008

Indicator Report 2008
Data to the Indicator Report 2008

2006

Indicator Report 2006

Press releases

Federal Government achieved four of its twelve sustainability goals for 2020

Press release No. 121 of 10 March 2021

The sustainability dialogue of the Federal Government starts: sustainability indicators available interactively

Press release No. 388 of 1 October 2020

German Sustainable Development Strategy: monitoring now in an interactive format

Press release No. 053 of 19 February 2020

Updated indicator report on German sustainability strategy published

Press release No. 474 of 6 December 2018

Sustainable indicators measured objectively

Press release No. 015 of 12 January 2017

Publikationen

Neuauflage der deutschen Nachhaltigkeitsstrategie 2021

Abbildung 1: WISTA
Erschienen im Januar 2017

Die Bundesregierung hat am 10. März 2021 die Neuauflage der Deutsche Nachhaltigkeitsstrategie beschlossen und sich 72 Ziele gesetzt, um Deutschland zukünftig nachhaltiger zu machen. Dabei wurden sechs Indikatoren in den Themen Gesundheit, Gleichstellung, Infrastruktur, Kulturerbe und Bodenschutz neu aufgenommen. Zudem wurden bei zehn bestehenden Indikatoren Ziele und Methodik weiterentwickelt.

Bereits im Jahr 2016 hatte die Bundesregierung, nach der Verabschiedung der Agenda 2030 der Vereinten Nationen, die Deutsche Nachhaltigkeitsstrategie überarbeitet und am 11. Januar 2017 neu beschlossen. Diese Überarbeitung stellt die umfassendste Weiterentwicklung der Strategie seit ihrer Konzeption im Jahr 2002 dar. Die "Neuauflage der Deutschen Nachhaltigkeitsstrategie" ist dabei der wesentliche Rahmen für die nationale Umsetzung der Agenda 2030 und ihrer 17 Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs). Das Statistische Bundesamt ist seit 2006 von der Bundesregierung mit der Analyse und dem Monitoring der Nachhaltigkeitsstrategie beauftragt. Es erstellt die Indikatoren, die die Zielerreichung der einzelnen Themenbereiche messen, und veröffentlicht zweijährlich sogenannte Indikatorenberichte.

Mehr Informationen erhalten Sie hier
Neuauflage der Deutschen Nachhaltigkeitsstrategie 2021

Machbarkeitsstudie zur Darstellung der Indikatoren der Deutschen Nachhaltigkeitsstrategie nach Bundesländern

Abbildung 2: Machbarkeitsstudie
Erschienen im November 2018

Neben der Bundesregierung verfügt die Mehrzahl der Bundesländer über eigene Nachhaltigkeitsstrategien. Einige Landesregierungen haben diese bereits an den 17 globalen Nachhaltigkeitszielen der Agenda 2030 ausgerichtet; in anderen Bundesländern gibt es Bestrebungen zur Anpassung oder Erarbeitung einer länderspezifischen Nachhaltigkeitsstrategie.

Die Chefs der Staats- und Senatskanzleien des Bundes und der Länder (CdS) haben beschlossen, für die Erfolgskontrolle der DNS einheitliche Indikatoren und Bewertungsmaßstäbe für Bund und Länder zu entwickeln. Das Statistische Bundesamt wurde vom Bund Länder Erfahrungsaustausch Nachhaltigkeit (BLE NH) – einem Gremium der für Nachhaltigkeit zuständigen Ressorts bei Bund und Ländern – gebeten, eine Übersicht zur Darstellung der Indikatoren der DNS nach Bundesländern zur Verfügung zu stellen. Die hier vorliegende Machbarkeitsstudie entspricht der fortentwickelten Übersicht.

Sonderauswertung für ausgewählte Indikatoren nach Gebietsstand

Abbildung 3: Sonderauswertung Gebietsstand
Erschienen am 28. Mai 2021

Veröffentlichung ausgewählter Indikatoren nach Gebietsstand: Neue Länder mit Berlin, Neue Länder ohne Berlin, Früheres Bundesgebiet.

Indikatorenberichte

Indikatorenbericht 2022
Die Indikatorenberichte des Statistischen Bundesamtes informieren über das Monitoring der Indikatoren der Deutschen Nachhaltigkeitsstrategie. Ergänzend werden zusätzliche Datenreihen zu den jeweiligen Indikatoren in den Daten zum Indikatorenbericht veröffentlicht.

2022

Indikatorenbericht 2022

Daten zum Indikatorenbericht 2022 – Die Publikation wurde eingestellt. Die Informationen sind nun online auf dieser Plattform bei den Indikatoren unter dem Reiter „Weitere Informationen“ verfügbar.

2021

Indikatorenbericht 2021
Daten zum Indikatorenbericht 2021

2018

Indikatorenbericht 2018
Daten zum Indikatorenbericht 2018

2016

Indikatorenbericht 2016
Daten zum Indikatorenbericht 2016

2014

Indikatorenbericht 2014
Daten zum Indikatorenbericht 2014

2012

Indikatorenbericht 2012
Daten zum Indikatorenbericht 2012

2010

Indikatorenbericht 2010
Daten zum Indikatorenbericht 2010

2008

Indikatorenbericht 2008
Daten zum Indikatorenbericht 2008

2006

Indikatorenbericht 2006

Pressemitteilungen

Bundesregierung erreicht vier ihrer zwölf Nachhaltigkeitsziele für 2020

Pressemitteilung Nr. 121 vom 10. März 2021

Zum Start des Nachhaltigkeitsdialogs der Bundesregierung: Nachhaltigkeitsindikatoren interaktiv verfügbar

Pressemitteilung Nr. 388 vom 1. Oktober 2020

Deutsche Nachhaltigkeitsstrategie: Monitoring jetzt auch interaktiv

Pressemitteilung Nr. 053 vom 19. Februar 2020

Aktualisierter Indikatorenbericht zur deutschen Nachhaltigkeitsstrategie veröffentlicht

Pressemitteilung Nr. 474 vom 6. Dezember 2018

Nachhaltigkeitsindikatoren objektiv gemessen

Pressemitteilung Nr. 015 vom 12. Januar 2017