Sustainable Development Strategies of the Länder

In addition to the Federal Government, the majority of the Länder have their own strategy for sustainable development. Some Länder governments have aligned their strategies with the Global Sustainable Development Goals of the 2030 Agenda, while efforts are being made by other Länder to adjust or draw up their own sustainable development strategy. Please note that most of the linked documents and webpages are available in German only.

Baden-Württemberg's Sustainable Development Strategy was launched in 2007 and revised in 2011. The Indicator Report entitled "Statusindikatoren einer nachhaltigen Entwicklung in Baden-Württemberg" (Status indicators of sustainable development in Baden-Württemberg) has been published since 2014. The fourth (2022) edition of the report was for the first time prepared only in interactive online format. It was issued by the Sustainable Development Strategy Office of the Ministry for the Environment, Climate Protection and the Energy Sector of Baden-Württemberg. 52 status indicators give on overview of sustainable development by providing data, background information and evaluations. 6 indicators offers insights into the personal attitudes and feelings of the people in Baden-Württemberg. To improve the comparability of indicators at federal and Land levels, this set of indicators was harmonised as far as possible with the nationwide set employed in the German Sustainability Strategy and the indicators used by the Working Party for Sustainable Development of the statistical offices of the Länder. The Land Statistical Office Baden-Württemberg was involved in compiling the Indicator Reports. The responsibility lies with the State Institute for the Environment of Baden-Württemberg.

The current version of the Bavarian Sustainable Development Strategy was adopted by the Bavarian Council of Ministers in March 2022. It is the result of intensive collaboration between all Land ministries and the State Chancellery. In its Sustainable Development Strategy, the Land government specifies the goals it sets itself and describes the measures it is taking to achieve them. In August 2021, the Land Office for Statistics of Bayern also published the first Indicator Report on sustainable development. In addition, the Bavarian Environment Agency published environmental indicators for Bayern.

Assessing sustainable development in Berlin is based on a set of indicators consisting of 40 "core indicators", each of which is assigned to one of the 17 global Sustainable Development Goals. The Core Indicator Report on sustainable development in Berlin was last updated in 2021 by the Senate Department for the Environment, Mobility, Consumer and Climate Protection in cooperation with the Statistical Office of Berlin-Brandenburg. A sustainability strategy for all of Berlin is currently being developed on which the leaflet "Die 17 Nachhaltigkeitsziele in Berlin" (The 17 Sustainable Development Goals in Berlin) is based.

In 2010 the Land govenment of Brandenburg decided to develop a strategy for the sustainable development of Brandenburg. As a result of various phases of dialogue, Brandenburg's Sustainable Development Strategy was adopted in April 2014 and updated in 2019. A first report including 49 sustainable development indicators for Brandenburg was submitted in July 2017. Taking stock of potential sustainable development indicators, it is intended as a basis for discussing ways of implementing and updating the Sustainable Development Stategy of Brandenburg. The report was prepared by the Statistical Office of Berlin-Brandenburg on behalf of the Ministry for Rural Development, the Environment and Agriculture of the Land of Brandenburg.

Every two years since 2021, Bemen has prepared a report on how the implementation of the Sustainable Development Goals is progressing. The report and the goals that will be derived from it replace the strategy for sustainable development. The State Chancellery of Bremen is responsible for the coordination. The objectives of the 2030 Agenda and the 17 Sustainable Development Goals are monitored decentrally in the individual ministries of Bremen. The Sustainable Development Goals report of Bremen covers indicators relating to the all 17 Sustainable Development Goals of the United Nations and their targets.

The government of Hamburg adopted a document on the "Umsetzung der Nachhaltigkeitsziele der Vereinten Nationen in Hamburg" (Implementation of the United Nations Sustainable Development Goals in Hamburg) in July 2017. In addition to identifying the aspects of the government's policy which are already in line with the goals of the 2030 Agenda, the document points out the topics which have to be worked on in the next few years. Plans have been made to develop a two-yearly reporting system together with the Statistical Office of North of Germany. The responsibility lies with the Ministry for the Environment, Climate, Energy and Agricultural Industry.

In 2008 the Land government of Hessen launched the "Nachhaltigkeitsstrategie Hessen" (Sustainable Development Strategy for Hessen). Its goals and indicators were developed in a participative process. The indicators were revised fundamentally with a view to the United Nations 2030 Agenda for Sustainable Development adopted in 2015 and new target values were defined for 2030 as part of a refinement process in the years 2017 and 2018. The goals and indicators were assigned to the fields of "economy", "ecology" and "social affairs" in the biennial Progress Report published between 2010 and 2016; the Progress Reports issued in 2020 and 2022 with 13 target indicators and 42 reporting indicators are structured according to the 17 Sustainable Development Goals of the 2030 Agenda.
A supplementary edition of the progress report 2022 in 2023 focussed on the 17 new indicators. An integrated presentation of the 17 new and 68 old indicators is planned for the 2024 progress report.

To date there has been no Sustainable Development Strategy for Mecklenburg-Vorpommern. As set out in the 2016-2021 coalition agreement, a strategy for the sustainable development of Mecklenburg-Vorpommern is to be developed in line with the National Sustainable Development Strategy.

In May 2017 the Land government adopted Niedersachsen's new indicator-based Sustainable Development Strategy. In September 2020, the first Progress Report on the "Niedersächsische Nachhaltigkeitsstrategie" (Sustainable Development Strategy of Niedersachsen) commissioned by the Land government was prepared by the Land Statistical Office of Niedersachsen. It focuses on adjusting and updating the sustainable development indicators and, in particular, on an even stronger and more systematic integration of the 17 Sustainable Development Goals of the United Nations into Niedersachsen's indicator set. The structure of the Progress Report follows the Sustainable Development Strategy and the selection of indicators is based on the 2030 Agenda and its Sustainable Development Goals in terms of content.

The Land government adopted the first Sustainable Development Strategy for Nordrhein-Westfalen in 2016, which was updated in 2020. On behalf of the Land government of Nordrhein-Westfalen, the statistics sector of IT.NRW (Central statistical and IT service provider of Nordrhein-Westfalen) prepared the first Sustainable Development Report in 2016 and updated it in 2020. It comprises nearly 70 indicators. Current data regarding the sustainable development indicators are provided online on an Internet portal.

A Sustainable Development Strategy for Rheinland-Pfalz has been in place since 2001. In the beginning, the strategy was revised every two years. A first indicator-based report was published in 2005. Since 2009, the Sustainable Development Strategy has been revised every four years. However, the data or Indicator Report (latest report with 27 indicators 2023) is still published every other year. The Land Statistical Office of Rheinland-Pfalz has been responsible for preparing the Indicator Report since 2011.

The Sustainable Development Strategy for the Saarland entitled "Gemeinsam Verantwortung tragen für heute und morgen" (Sharing responsibility for today and tomorrow) was adopted in December 2016 after a two-year preparation phase based on a dialogue within society at eye level. With its six areas of action and 39 indicators, the Sustainable development Strategy focuses on central sustainabillity topics which are relevant for the Saarland from its perspective as a federal state but also in the global context. The Saarland was one of the first Länder to show in its strategy which of the global sustainability goals adopted under the 2030 Agenda are particularly relevant for the Land and what aspects require more attention.

From 2020 to 2022, the Sustainable Development Strategy was updated under the aegis of the Ministry for the Environment, Climate, Mobility, Agriculture and Consumer Protection. The updating process was open for participation and focused on the ideas and project approaches for implementing the Sustainable Development Strategy. Under the motto "Wir gestalten gemeinsam. Saarland nachhaltig" (Jointly shaping a sustainable Saarland), all interested an committed citizens and stakeholders in society were invited to network and get into dialogue and thus play an active part in the updating process. In this context, a team of sustainability experts selected ten flagship projects for a more sustainable Saarland from 80 proposals submitted and the process of successful implementation was started jointly. The continuous development of sustainability is both the basis and the mission of Saarland's Sustainability Policy - to be pursued together with citizens.

The Sustainable Development Strategy describes major topics, central goals and challenges regarding the sustainable development of Sachsen. When the Sustainable Development Strategy was prepared in 2018, Sachsen's areas of action were linked with the Sustainable Developments Goals of the 2030 Agenda. These areas of action are addressed in the Sustainable Development Report and sets of indicators, among others, are used for measurement purposes. The 2022 Sustainable Development Report for Sachsen has been available since the end of 2022. Such reports are prepared once per legislative term.

Under the aegis of the Ministry for Science, energy, Climate Protection and the Environment and in cooperation with other ministries involved, a new version of the Sustainable Development Strategy was prepared for Sachsen-Anhalt in 2022. The strategy is based on the 17 Sustainable development Goals of the united Nations' 2030 Agenda and presents the current situation, the framework conditions in Sachsen-Anhalt, the goals to be implemented and the relevant measures that have to be taken to achieve these goals by 2030. The strategy includes an updated Indicator Report, which describes Sachsen-Anhalt's sustainability goals and adapts goals for past periods to the 2030 perspective.

Education is the central element of the Sustainable Development Strategy. It is regarded as on of the key factors of sustainable living in Sachsen-Anhalt. By assigning an individual target to promote the development of creative competencies for shaping the future, participation and critical thinking, an important contribution is made to implementing the Sustainable Development Goals of the 2030 Agenda. The Sustainable Development Strategy and more information on sustainable development in Sachsen-Anhalt are available here.

In December 2018, the Land government of Schleswig-Holstein identified a total of 75 indicators as a basis for taking stock of the sustainable development in Schleswig-Holstein and for measuring its sustainable development until 2030: 44 target indicators, 27 reporting indicators and 4 reference indicators. Schleswig-Holstein's first report on the UN Sustainable Development Goals was published on this basis in June 2020. A PDF of the report is provided here. The report will be updated every five years. A webpage offering key information can be accessed here.

The Land government adopted a Sustainable Development Strategy including relevant indicators for Thüringen in 2011. The first Indicator Report with 27 indicators was published in 2012.

When the 2030 Agenda was adopted, Thüringen's Sustainable Development Strategy had to be adjusted. The strategy with five areas of focus and reference to the Sustainable Development Goals was adopted in 2018. Each ministry prepared its own Sustainable Development Plan in 2018, too, which supports sustainable action in the respective policy area. In 2019, Thüringen's indicator set for sustainable Development was revised fundamentally, and its third Indicator Report was published in 2020. The preparation of the projects is organised by a State Secretaries' working group and the relevant inter-ministerial working group. Thüringen's Advisory Council on Sustainability is also involved in the projects. The webpage which has been accessible since 2021, give a good overview of the sustainability activities in Thüringen.

Nachhaltigkeitsstrategien der Bundesländer

Neben der Bundesregierung verfügt die Mehrzahl der Bundesländer über eigene Nachhaltigkeitsstrategien. Einige Landesregierungen haben diese bereits an den globalen Nachhaltigkeitszielen der Agenda 2030 ausgerichtet; in anderen Bundesländern gibt es Bestrebungen zur Anpassung oder Erarbeitung einer länderspezifischen Nachhaltigkeitsstrategie.

Seit 2007 existiert eine Nachhaltigkeitsstrategie für das Bundesland Baden-Württemberg, welche 2011 neu aufgelegt wurde. Der Indikatorenbericht - Statusindikatoren einer nachhaltigen Entwicklung in Baden-Württemberg erscheint seit 2014. Für die vierte Auflage 2022 wurde der Bericht erstmals ausschließlich im interaktiven Online-Format erstellt. Er wurde von der Geschäftsstelle Nachhaltigkeitsstrategie im Ministerium für Umwelt, Klima und Energiewirtschaft Baden-Württemberg herausgegeben. 52 Statusindikatoren geben einen Überblick über eine nachhaltige Entwicklung mit Daten, Hintergründen und Bewertung. 6 Indikatoren geben Einblicke in die persönliche Einstellung und Empfindungen der Menschen in Baden-Württemberg. Um die Vergleichbarkeit der Indikatoren auf Bundes- und Landesebene weiter zu verbessern, wurde das Indikatorenset soweit wie möglich mit dem bundesweiten Indikatorensatz der Deutschen Nachhaltigkeitsstrategie und den Indikatoren des AK Nachhaltige Entwicklung der Statistischen Landesämter harmonisiert. Das Statistische Landesamt Baden-Württemberg hat bei der Erstellung der Indikatorenberichte mitgewirkt. Federführend ist die Landesanstalt für Umwelt Baden-Württemberg.

Der aktuelle Stand der Bayerischen Nachhaltigkeitsstrategie wurde im März 2022 vom Ministerrat beschlossen. Sie ist das Ergebnis einer intensiven Zusammenarbeit aller Ressorts und der Staatskanzlei. Mit der Nachhaltigkeitsstrategie legt die Staatsregierung dar, welche konkreten Ziele sie sich steckt und welche Maßnahmen sie ergreift, um diese zu erreichen. Im August 2021 veröffentlichte das Bayerische Landesamt für Statistik zudem den ersten Indikatorenbericht zur nachhaltigen Entwicklung. Außerdem veröffentlicht das Bayerische Landesamt für Umwelt Umweltindikatoren für Bayern.

Die Bewertung nachhaltiger Entwicklung in Berlin beruht auf der Basis eines Indikatorensatzes bestehend aus 40 sogenannten Kernindikatoren, die jeweils einem der 17 globalen Nachhaltigkeitsziele zugeordnet sind. Der Kernindikatorenbericht zur nachhaltigen Entwicklung Berlins wurde zuletzt 2021 gemeinsam von der Senatsverwaltung für Umwelt, Mobilität, Verbraucher- und Klimaschutz in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Amt für Statistik Berlin-Brandenburg aktualisiert. Aktuell wird in Berlin eine landesweite Nachhaltigkeitsstrategie entwickelt, die auf der Broschüre "Die 17 Nachhaltigkeitsziele in Berlin" aufbaut.

Die Landesregierung Brandenburg hatte 2010 beschlossen, eine Strategie für eine Nachhaltige Entwicklung des Landes Brandenburg aufzustellen. Im April 2014 wurde die Nachhaltigkeitsstrategie für Brandenburg als Ergebnis verschiedener Dialogphasen verabschiedet, welche 2019 fortgeschrieben wurde. Im Juli 2017 wurde ein erster Bericht mit 49 Nachhaltigkeitsindikatoren für Brandenburg vorgelegt. Diese Bestandsaufnahme zu möglichen Nachhaltigkeitsindikatoren versteht sich als Diskussionsgrundlage zur Umsetzung und Fortschreibung der Landesnachhaltigkeitsstrategie. Sie wurde im Auftrag des brandenburgischen Ministeriums für Ländliche Entwicklung, Umwelt und Landwirtschaft (MLUL) vom Amt für Statistik Berlin-Brandenburg erarbeitet.

Bremen erstellt seit 2021 alle zwei Jahre einen Bericht über den Stand der Umsetzung der Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs). Dieser Bericht, sowie die künftig daraus abgeleiteten Ziele, ersetzen die Nachhaltigkeitsstrategie. Die Koordinierung obliegt der Senatskanzlei Bremen. Die Ziele der Agenda 2030 und die 17 SDG Goals werden dezentral in den einzelnen Senatsressorts verfolgt. Im Bremer SDG-Bericht werden Indikatoren zu allen 17 UN-Nachhaltigkeitszielen und den zugehörigen Unterzielen erhoben.

Der Hamburger Senat hat im Juli 2017 die Drucksache "Umsetzung der Nachhaltigkeitsziele der Vereinten Nationen in Hamburg" beschlossen. Neben einer Bestandsaufnahme - wo stimmt die Senatspolitik bereits mit den Zielsetzungen der Agenda 2030 überein - werden die Themen benannt, an denen in den nächsten Jahren konkret weitergearbeitet werden soll. Unter Beteiligung des Statistikamtes Nord soll hierzu ein zweijährliches Berichtssystem entwickelt werden. Federführend ist die Behörde für Umwelt, Klima, Energie und Agrarwirtschaft.

2008 startete die Hessische Landesregierung die "Nachhaltigkeitsstrategie Hessen", für die Ziele und Indikatoren in einem partizipativen Prozess entwickelt wurden. Im Rahmen eines Weiterentwicklungsprozesses in den Jahren 2017 und 2018 wurden die Indikatoren im Hinblick auf die im Jahr 2015 beschlossene "Agenda 2030 für nachhaltige Entwicklung" der Vereinten Nationen grundlegend überarbeitet und neue Zielwerte für 2030 festgelegt. In den zwischen 2010 und 2016 im zweijährigen Rhythmus erschienen Fortschrittsberichten sind die Ziele und Indikatoren nach den Bereichen "Ökonomie", "Ökologie" und "Soziales" gegliedert; die in den Jahren 2020 und 2022 erschienenen Fortschrittsberichte (13 Ziel- und 42 Reportingindikatoren) sind nach den 17 Nachhaltigkeitszielen (Sustainable Development Goals, SDG) der Agenda 2030 strukturiert.
Mit einer Ergänzungsausgabe des Fortschrittsberichts 2022 wurden im Jahr 2023 die 17 neuen Indikatoren in den Blick genommen. Für den Fortschrittsbericht 2024 ist die integrierte Darstellung der 17 neuen und 68 bisherigen Indikatoren geplant.

Für Mecklenburg-Vorpommern existiert bislang keine Nachhaltigkeitsstrategie. Laut Koalitionsvereinbarung 2016 bis 2021 ist beabsichtigt, eine Strategie für eine nachhaltige Entwicklung des Landes Mecklenburg-Vorpommern in Abstimmung zur nationalen Nachhaltigkeitsstrategie des Bundes zu erarbeiten.

Im Mai 2017 hat die Landesregierung die neue, indikatorengestützte Nachhaltigkeitsstrategie für Niedersachsen beschlossen. Im September 2020 wurde der erste Fortschrittsbericht für die "Niedersächsische Nachhaltigkeitsstrategie" vom Landesamt für Statistik im Auftrag der Landesregierung erstellt. Er konzentriert sich auf die Fortschreibung und Aktualisierung der Nachhaltigkeitsindikatoren und vor allem auf eine noch stärkere und systematische Integration der 17 Nachhaltigkeitsziele der Vereinten Nationen (Sustainable Development Goals, SDGs) in das Indikatorenset des Landes. Der Fortschrittsbericht folgt im Aufbau der Nachhaltigkeitsstrategie und in der Auswahl der Indikatoren inhaltlich der Agenda 2030 und den zugehörigen Nachhaltigkeitszielen.

Die Landesregierung hat 2016 die erste Nachhaltigkeitsstrategie für Nordrhein-Westfalen verabschiedet, welche 2020 aktualisiert wurde. Der erste Nachhaltigkeitsbericht wurde 2016 im Auftrag der Landesregierung Nordrhein-Westfalen durch den Geschäftsbereich Statistik bei IT.NRW (Information und Technik Nordrhein-Westfalen) erstellt und 2020 auf den aktuellsten Stand gebracht. Er umfasst knapp 70 Indikatoren. Aktuelle Daten zu den Nachhaltigkeitsindikatoren sind online in einem Internet-Portal verfügbar.

Bereits seit 2001 existiert eine Nachhaltigkeitsstrategie für Rheinland-Pfalz. Diese wurde zunächst alle zwei Jahre überarbeitet. Ein erster indikatorengestützter Bericht wurde 2005 veröffentlicht. Seit 2009 erfolgt die Überarbeitung der Nachhaltigkeitsstrategie in einem vierjährigen Turnus. Der Daten- beziehungsweise Indikatorenbericht (zuletzt 2023 mit 27 Indikatoren) erscheint jedoch weiterhin alle zwei Jahre. Das Statistische Landesamt hat 2011 die Erstellung des Indikatorenberichts übernommen.

Die saarländische Nachhaltigkeitsstrategie "Gemeinsam Verantwortung tragen für heute und morgen" wurde nach zweijähriger Erarbeitung unter Durchführung eines gesellschaftlichen Dialoges auf Augenhöhe im Dezember 2016 verabschiedet. In sechs Handlungsfeldern mit 39 Indikatoren richtet die Nachhaltigkeitsstrategie ihr Augenmerk auf zentrale nachhaltige Themen, die für das Saarland aus Landesperspektive von Bedeutung sind, aber auch im globalen Kontext eine wichtige Rolle spielen. Als eines der ersten Bundesländer schaffte es das Saarland, mit der Strategie aufzuzeigen, welche globalen Nachhaltigkeitsziele, die im Rahmen der Agenda 2030 verabschiedet wurden, für das Land besonders relevant sind und wo noch Akzente gesetzt werden müssen.

Von 2020 bis 2022 wurde die Nachhaltigkeitsstrategie unter Federführung des Ministeriums für Umwelt, Klima, Mobilität, Agrar und Verbraucherschutz fortgeschrieben. Der Fortschreibungsprozess war ein offener Beteiligungsprozess, der die Ideen und Projektansätze zur Umsetzung der Nachhaltigkeitsstrategie in den Fokus gestellt hat. Dazu waren alle interessierten und engagierten Bürgerinnen und Bürger und gesellschaftlichen Akteurinnen und Akteure unter dem Motto "Wir gestalten gemeinsam. Saarland nachhaltig" eingeladen, sich miteinander zu vernetzen, in Dialog zu treten und den Fortschreibungsprozess aktiv mitzugestalten. In diesem Kontext wurden von einem Expertinnen- und Expertenteam Nachhaltigkeit aus 80 eingereichten Vorschlägen zehn Leuchtturmprojekte für ein nachhaltigeres Saarland identifiziert und der Weg zur erfolgreichen Umsetzung gemeinsam angegangen. Die kontinuierliche Weiterentwicklung der Nachhaltigkeit ist Grundlage und Aufgabe der saarländischen Nachhaltigkeitspolitik - zusammen mit den Bürgerinnen und Bürgern.

Die Nachhaltigkeitsstrategie beschreibt Schwerpunktthemen, zentrale Ziele und Herausforderungen im Hinblick auf die Nachhaltige Entwicklung des Freistaates Sachsen. Mit der Erstellung der Nachhaltigkeitsstrategie 2018 wurden die sächsischen Handlungsfelder mit den Nachhaltigkeitszielen der Agenda 2030 verknüpft.Diese Handlungsfelder werden im Nachhaltigkeitsbericht aufgegriffen und unter anderem durch Indikatorensets messbar gemacht. Seit Ende 2022 steht der Nachhaltigkeitsbericht Sachsen 2022 zur Verfügung. Der Nachhaltigkeitsbericht wird einmal in der Legislaturperiode erstellt.

Unter Federführung des Ministeriums für Wissenschaft, Energie, Klimaschutz und Umwelt und in Zusammenarbeit mit anderen beteiligten Ressorts wurde 2022 eine Neufassung der Nachhaltigkeitsstrategie des Landes Sachsen-Anhalt erarbeitet. Die Strategie orientiert sich an den 17 Globalen Nachhaltigkeitszielen der Agenda 2030 der Vereinten Nationen und zeigt den aktuellen Stand, die vorhandenen Rahmenbedingungen in Sachsen-Anhalt sowie die umzusetzenden Ziele und zugehörigen Maßnahmen zur Zielerreichung bis zum Jahr 2030. Die Strategie beinhaltet einen aktualisierten Indikatorenbericht, der die Nachhaltigkeitsziele Sachsen-Anhalts abbildet und zeitlich überholte Zielsetzungen mit Perspektive auf das Jahr 2030 neu fasst.

Zentraler Bestandteil der Nachhaltigkeitsstrategie ist die Bildung. Sie wird als einer der Schlüsselfaktoren für ein nachhaltiges Leben in Sachsen-Anhalt angesehen. Durch die Zuordnung eines eigenständigen Unterziels, welches die Herausbildung von Gestaltungskompetenz, Partizipation und kritischem Denken fördern soll, wird ein wichtiger Beitrag zur Realisierung der Nachhaltigkeitsziele der Agenda 2030 geleistet. Die Nachhaltigkeitsstrategie und weitere Informationen zur Nachhaltigen Entwicklung in Sachsen-Anhalt sind hier zu finden.

Die Landesregierung Schleswig-Holstein hat im Dezember 2018 insgesamt 75 Indikatoren als Grundlage für eine Bestandsaufnahme zur nachhaltigen Entwicklung in Schleswig-Holstein festgelegt, anhand derer zukünftig die nachhaltige Entwicklung des Landes bis 2030 gemessen werden soll: 44 Ziel-Indikatoren, 27 Reporting-Indikatoren und 4 Orientierungsindikatoren. Im Juni 2020 erschien auf dieser Basis der "1. Bericht Schleswig-Holsteins zu den UN-Nachhaltigkeitszielen". Der Bericht als PDF ist hier zu finden. Eine Aktualisierung des Berichts soll alle fünf Jahre erfolgen. Der Link zur Schwerpunktseite ist hier zu finden.

Die Landesregierung hat 2011 eine Nachhaltigkeitsstrategie mit entsprechenden Indikatoren für Thüringen beschlossen. 2012 wurde ein erster Indikatorenbericht mit 27 Indikatoren veröffentlicht. Mit der Verabschiedung der Agenda 2030 war eine Anpassung der Nachhaltigkeitsstrategie notwendig. Die Strategie wurde 2018 mit fünf Schwerpunktfeldern und Bezug zu den Sustainable Development Goals verabschiedet. Ebenfalls im Jahr 2018 hat jedes Ressort einen eigenen Nachhaltigkeitsplan aufgestellt, der das nachhaltige Handel im jeweiligen Politikfeld untersetzt. In 2019 wurde der Thüringer Indikatorensatz zur Nachhaltigen Entwicklung grundlegend überarbeitet und 2020 der dritte Indikatorenbericht herausgegeben. Die Erarbeitung der Vorhaben läuft über eine Staatssekretärs-Arbeitsgruppe "Nachhaltige Entwicklung" mit der dazugehörigen Interministeriellen Arbeitsgruppe. Der Thüringer Nachhaltigkeitsbeirat ist bei den Vorhaben ebenfalls einbezogen. Die seit 2021 geschaltete Internetseite gibt einen guten Überblick zu den Nachhaltigkeitsaktivitäten in Thüringen.